top of page
RSS Feed

Review: He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker


Title: He Will Be My Ruin

Author: K.A. Tucker

Publication: February 2, 2016

Genres: Adult, Mystery, Suspense

Summary: Twenty-eight-year-old Maggie Sparkes arrives in New York City to pack up what’s left of her best friend’s belongings after a suicide that has left everyone stunned. The police have deemed the evidence conclusive: Celine got into bed, downed a bottle of Xanax and a handle of Maker’s Mark, and never woke up. But when Maggie discovers secrets in the childhood lock box hidden in Celine’s apartment, she begins asking questions. Questions about the man Celine fell in love with. The man she never told anyone about, not even Maggie. The man who Celine herself claimed would be her ruin.

On the hunt for answers that will force the police to reopen the case, Maggie uncovers more than she bargained for about Celine’s private life—and inadvertently puts herself on the radar of a killer who will stop at nothing to keep his crimes undiscovered.

7 reasons why you should read He Will Be My Ruin

7. K.A. Tucker: I am a huge fan of K.A. Tucker and I've loved every book of hers that I've read. I haven't read all of them, but from those that I have, I've always enjoyed them. She never fails to deliver, in my opinion.

6. Fast-Paced: Don't think you can take a break with this book. Be prepared to read this in one setting, because you won't have time to pause and relax.

5. The Romance: K.A. Tucker is very good at writing romance and she handles it very well. The relationships are always complex and interesting and don’t worry, the love-interest is definitely swoon-worthy.

4. Captivating Story: The story was so fascinating that I read the entire book in one day. I felt like I needed to discover the killer and I kept flipping the page (or swiping on my kindle) to learn what would happen next.

3. Complex Characters: The characters are highly developed and complex, including the secondary characters. All the characters felt very real to me and I became very interested in their story. We even get some insight on the victims thoughts, which helped the emotional aspect of the book.

2. Never a Dull Moment: the story is filled with many twists and reveals that it's hard to keep up. I felt like we were learning something new every few pages. There was always something happening to keep you invested in the story.

1. The Mystery: What a fabulous mystery! I honestly couldn’t figure out the identity of the killer and I kept doubting myself when I thought I finally figured it out. I haven't read a good mystery novel in a while and this is one of the best mystery novels I have ever read. Read this story, you will NOT be disappointed!

Let's all give K.A. Tucker a round of applause, because she deserves a well-earned crown for this book. Fingers crossed there will be a sequel!

bottom of page