top of page
RSS Feed

Reader Recommendations: To All The Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han

Title: To All The Boys I've Loved Before

Author: Jenny Han

Series: Series To All The Boys I've Loved Before #2

Publication: April 15th 2014

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Summary: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister's ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

I'll try not to fangirl but this is one of my favorite books of 2014! It's such a cute romance with a diverse main character hard to find in books these days. Lara Jean is so relatable and I loved reading about her.

“I want to say yes, but I don't want to be with a boy whose heart belongs to somebody else. Just once, I want to be somebody else's first choice” ​

First love, family, and the woes of teenage angst! What more do you want from a book?

“Smirking, he says, 'Whatever spell you just tried to cast on me, it didn't work, so I think you need to go back to Hogwarts.'”

I love Peter! He will always be one of my book boyfriends. And who doesn't love a boy who smirks and comments about Harry Potter? Falling in love with Peter will not be difficult by any means.

“My letters are for when I don't want to be in love anymore. They're for good-bye. Because after I write in my letter, I'm not longer consumed by my all-consuming love...My letters set me free. Or at least they're supposed to.”

I would recommend this book to romance lovers of all ages. Read it now so we can swoon together!

Meet the Characters:

Laura Jean

She's sweet, shy, and very loyal. Her family is very important to her. After her older sister leaves, she starts to take responsiblity for the household and takes care of everyone. She likes to do the right thing.

Peter Kavinsky

He's popular and charismatic. He's funny and sweet to Laura Jean. They're relationship builds slowly and they get along very well. But he is in love with another girl. *Le sigh* They can't all be perfect.

Author Bio:

JENNY HAN is the New York Times bestselling author ofThe Summer I Turned Pretty series, Shug, and the Burn for Burn trilogy, cowritten with Siobhan Vivian. She is also the author of the chapter bookClara Lee and The Apple Pie Dream. A former children’s bookseller, she earned her MFA in creative writing at the New School.

bottom of page