top of page
RSS Feed

Review: The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury


The Forbidden Wish

Title: The Forbidden Wish

Author: Jessica Khoury

Series: Standalone

Publication: February 23rd 2016

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Summary: She is the most powerful Jinni of all. He is a boy from the streets. Their love will shake the world...

When Aladdin discovers Zahra's jinni lamp, Zahra is thrust back into a world she hasn't seen in hundreds of years—a world where magic is forbidden and Zahra's very existence is illegal. She must disguise herself to stay alive, using ancient shape-shifting magic, until her new master has selected his three wishes.

But when the King of the Jinn offers Zahra a chance to be free of her lamp forever, she seizes the opportunity—only to discover she is falling in love with Aladdin. When saving herself means betraying him, Zahra must decide once and for all: is winning her freedom worth losing her heart?

As time unravels and her enemies close in, Zahra finds herself suspended between danger and desire in this dazzling retelling of Aladdin from acclaimed author Jessica Khoury.

Review

This book is…magical (pun intended). I want to hug it and squeeze it and pet it. I hadn't read the summary or anything before picking up this book so I randomly chose it. But the Book Gods have blessed me, because I am so happy that I read it. It was a win for me!

Zahra, a jinni, was punished and imprisoned in her lamp for 400 years, but she is finally released by Aladdin, a charming thief. Aladdin has a revengeful plans to destroy Sulifer and his son Darian, but his plan conflicts with Zahra's bargain with Nardukha for freedom. Together they face the royal court, a vengeful and powerful jinni, and self-discovery on their journey.

First, the cover is absolutely gorgeous, which is what caught my eye initially (yes, I judge books by their cover). But it's the romance that steals the show. There is no insta-love or love-triangle in this book. These two individuals simply grow to love each other and is beautiful to watch it gradually develop.

You will fall in love with these characters. Zahra is a powerful and desired jinni. She is actually stronger than Aladdin and repeatedly saves his life (Girl Power!). You also can't help but feel sorry for her. She is a slave forced to comply to her master's demands and she feels lonely, because she is prohibited to make relationships. I admire her strength to live through that and continue to fight for her freedom for hundreds of years.

Aladdin, the love interest, was perfect. I loved his attitude, his courage and his charm. He definitely is a charmer, but he cares about Zahra when he hasn't cared for anyone for a very long time. I loved them both-with their flaws and all.

Don't worry, there is action to progress the story too. There is no cliff-hanger so readers will get a satisfying conclusion. This is well-written book with enough action, romance, and world-development to satisfy any reader. I finished the book in one sitting (3 A.M. to be precise) and I have no regrets.

Now that I finished the book, I want a sequel, because I seriously can't let go of these characters. Alas, this is a standalone.( Someone quick! Write some fanfiction!)

If I had a jinni, I would wish for a sequel in a heartbeat!

bottom of page